Which Driver CPC is right for you...

Well, let’s find out:

Vocational Training

If you don’t have a vocational driving licence for either:

  • Lorries: Category C1, C or C+E
  • Busses: Category D1, D or D+E

You’ll need to get one. How? First of all, you’ll need a full Category B (Class 1) licence. Then you can apply for your provisional Category C, C1, D or D1 (bundled together into Class 2) licence. Then you must pass your test.

The test consists of two parts:

  • Module 1: Driving Theory Test
  • Module 3: Driving Practical Test

Passing these two modules will demonstrate that you have an understanding of the practical elements of HGV driving, and will get you your heavy goods driving licence.

 

If this is the stage you’re at, you’ll need to get booked into an accredited LGV practical testing facility. Chartwise is NOT one of them. To find out which categories you need, visit the GOV Licence Categories web page.

DID YOU KNOW: those taking an approved National Vocational Training (NVT) course can drive professionally for up to a year without taking Parts 2 & 4 of the DCPC test.
 

Initial CPC

After you’ve got your licence, you’ll then need to get your DQC (Drivers Qualification Card). To do so, you must pass the Initial CPC.

This qualification consists of two tests:

  • Module 2: Case Study Exam
  • Module 4: Practical Demonstration

 

Chartwise also do NOT offer this. Once you’ve passed these elements, you’ll be good to attend Periodic Driver CPC: which is totally our bag. Once you’ve passed all four modules, give us a shout – we’ll put you on the road to becoming a fully-fledged wagoner.

For more detailed info on the Initial CPC, check this out.

 

Keeping the qualification

The DCPC is not a lifetime qualification. It’s valid only for 5 years.

Within that 5-year period, you must complete another 35 hours to maintain your qualification. Most drivers opt to sit one module (7 hours) per year to spread the cost and the time off road.

What’s next?

Well, now that you know more about the Driver CPC qualification and have established whether or not you need it, it’s time to take a closer look at the course itself:

You’ve made the decision: you need Driver CPC.

So, what’s next?

Well, you need to pick a training provider. Location, cost, and availability are the major factors. So, let’s get right to it.

Location

The Driver CPC is taught at our multi-accredited training facilities in Team Valley, Gateshead. We offer week-long courses and single days. In certain circumstances, we can even deliver particular modules offsite.

Prices

  • For a full week of CPC, we charge £320 (including VAT & DSA upload fees).
  • For a single weekday, we charge £64 (including VAT & DSA upload fees).
  • For a single Saturday, we charge £72 (including VAT & DSA upload fees).
  • For group bookings (8+ candidates) we offer discounted prices and package deals

Availability

We hold full week-long Driver CPC courses at least once a month. We also teach single modules on one or two Saturdays a month – for those candidates unable to take time off work during the week.

Don’t forget – ADR training can count as hours toward your CPC. We also hold full ADR courses monthly.

But why should I choose Chartwise?

Yes, we know – there are so many training centres out there, delivering similar content – it’s difficult to tell them apart.

What ensures Chartwise remain a cut above, however, is that our trainers do not simply click through PowerPoint slides, reading words off a screen – they interact, engage, and answer your questions. They use their expertise in everything from securing loads to drivers’ hours calculations to ensure you’re prepared for life on the road.

So, what now? Well, select a date, register your details and get booked in. You can find a full list of our upcoming courses below:

 

Congratulations!
You’re ready to train.

Whether you’re new to the industry or simply updating your hours; the Chartwise Driver CPC course will get you prepped for all that the road may throw at you.

So, select a date, complete the form at the bottom of the page, and we’ll take care of the rest.

 

Upcoming Courses* on Team Valley

Driver CPC Courses in December 2020

  • Monday 7th December 2020 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – CLASSROOM
  • Tuesday 8th December 2020 – Safe & Economic Driving – CLASSROOM
  • Wednesday 9th December 2020 – Safe Vehicle Loading – CLASSROOM
  • Thursday 10th December 2020 – Company Documents & Procedures – CLASSROOM
  • Friday 11th December 2020 – Health & Safety in Transport – CLASSROOM
  • Saturday 12th December 2020 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Saturday 19th December 2020 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Saturday 19th December 2020 – FORS Safe Urban Driving – CLASSROOM & PRACTICAL

Driver CPC Courses in January 2021

  • Monday 4th January 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 5th January 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 6th January 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Thursday 7th January 2021 – Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Friday 8th January 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Saturday 16th January 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Monday 18th January 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 19th January 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 20th January 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Thursday 21st January 2021 – Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Friday 22nd January 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Saturday 30th January 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE

Driver CPC Courses in February 2021

  • Monday 1st February 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 2nd February 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 3rd February 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Thursday 4th February 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Friday 5th February 2021– Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Monday 8th February 2021– Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 9th February 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 10th February 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Thursday 11th February 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Friday 12th February 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Saturday 13th February 2021 – Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Monday 15th February 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 16th February 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 17th February 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Thursday 18th February 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Friday 19th February 2021 – Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Monday 22nd February 2021– Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 23rd February 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 24th February 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Thursday 25th February 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Friday 26th February 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Saturday 27th February 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE

Driver CPC Courses in March 2021

  • Monday 1st March 2021 – Company Documents & Procedures – ONLINE
  • Tuesday 2nd March 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE
  • Wednesday 3rd March 2021 – Drivers’ Hours, WTD & Digital Tachographs – ONLINE
  • Thursday 4th March 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Friday 5th March 2021 – Safe Vehicle Loading – ONLINE
  • Saturday 13th March 2021 – Safe & Economic Driving – ONLINE
  • Saturday 27th March 2021 – Health & Safety in Transport – ONLINE

FURTHER DATES ARE AVAILABLE ON REQUEST.

*Courses are subject to change at the discretion of Chartwise UK. For more information please review our Training Terms & Conditions.

Call (0191) 491 5032 to book your place

Let us know what you're after











    Which best describes your role?*



    Let us know if you're after more than 1 place...









    We respect your privacy, and will only use your data to fulfill your request. We would, however, like to send you occasional content we think may be of value to you. If you're happy to receive said content, please tick the box below:


    You may unsubscribe from these at any time. For more information on our privacy practices, please review our Privacy Policy.

    By clicking Submit, you consent to our storing and processing the data entered above to provide you with the information you've requested.